New Education Minister
Premier Redford announced her new Cabinet on May 8, 2012.  The new Education Minister is Jeff Johnson, MLA for Athabasca-Redwater.  Mr. Johnson was elected to the Alberta Legislature in 2008.  On October 12, 2011, during his first term as MLA, Mr. Johnson was sworn in as Minister of Infrastructure.  He also served as Political Minister-Northern
Alberta and was Vice-Chair of the Treasury board.
Related to education, Mr. Johnson co-chaired the Steering Committee on Inspiring Education, the government’s venue of consultation and input in developing the Proposed Education Act.
Mr. Johnson, along with his wife and their 3 children live in Athabasca.
Please pray for Mr. Johnson as this Ministry is a great responsibility.  AHEA looks forward to working alongside Mr. Johnson. 
Spring Legislative Session: No Legislation to be Debated
In a press conference held on May 2, 2012, Premier Redford announced a spring session.  Premier Redford stated that there will be no legislation on the table during this session.  She stated that Bill 2: Education Act will not be debated during the spring session ( at 10:00)